The Living Legends Foundation Announces Its 2017 Honorees and Annual Gala

Caption: Top Row (l-r): Rolonda Watts, Varnell Johnson, Don Jackson, Steve Crumbley; Bottom Row (l-r):  Morace Landy, Ray Chew and Vivian Scott Chew, Larry Jackson, Tyrone Williams

The Living Legends Foundation, Inc. (LLF), announces its 26th anniversary celebration and the 2017 honorees for the 21st Annual Living Legends Awards Gala. This year’s event will be held on Thursday, October 5, 2017, at 6:30 p.m. at Taglyan Cultural Complex, 1201 N. Vine Street, Hollywood, CA.

The 2017 Living Legends Awards will be hosted by Rolonda Watts, veteran broadcasting and media personality, author, and CEO of Watts Works Productions. The 2017 honorees include seven distinguished individuals: Varnell Johnson, CEO, Junes Entertainment and LLF President, will be presented with the Chairman’s Award; Morace Landy, Chief Marketing Strategist of Empire Distribution, will receive the Music Executive Award; Steve Crumbley, Sr. VP of Programming/Operations Manager of Apex Media Charleston, will be presented with the Jerry Boulding Radio Executive Award; Don Jackson, founder, Chairman, and CEO of Central City Productions, Inc., will receive the Broadcast Icon Award; Ray Chew and Vivian Scott Chew, Partners of Chew Entertainment will be presented with the Creative Visionary Award; Tyrone Williams, Chairman of the Board, Brooklyn United/Former Chairman and CEO of Cold Chillin’ Records, will receive the Hip-Hop Visionary Award; and Larry Jackson, Head of Original Music Content of Apple Music, will be presented with the Digital Music Executive Award.

The LLF Honorary Event Chairpersons for this year’s Awards Dinner and Gala are Geo Bivins, Executive Vice-President, Urban Promotions, RCA Records, and Siedah Garrett, Grammy Award winner and two-time Oscar-nominated singer, songwriter, and producer Patricia Shields, Partner of Black Dot, LLC, and LLF Officer, serves as Dinner Committee Chairperson.

The LLF Dinner Committee includes a who’s who in radio, records and media, including  Eulis Cathey, Radio Personality, Watercolors, Sirius XM and WBGO-FM; Skip Dillard, Program Director, WBLS-FM (New York) and LLF Advisory board member; Sheila Eldridge, CEO, Miles Ahead Entertainment & Broadcasting and LLF board member; Ethiopia Habtermariam, President, Motown Records; Karen Kennedy, President, 24 Seven Artist Development; Vicki Mack Lataillade, CMO, Premiere Label Group; Pat Prescott, Radio Personality, 94.7/The Wave Radio; Lynn Scott, Vice President, Marketing, Warner Bros. Records; and Phil Thornton, Senior Vice-President/GM, RCA Inspiration/Sony Music.

The 2017 honorees continue to reflect the music and entertainment industries’ ever-changing and evolving businesses. The foundation’s core mission is to honor pioneers and professionals who have broken new ground in the arenas of broadcasting, recorded music, and other allied fields, including publicity, marketing, and publishing. “Last year, the Living Legends Foundation celebrated its 25th anniversary,” says David Linton, Chairman of the Living Legends Foundation. “Since that time, the foundation and its board have shared a renewed vision on the direction of the organization that will hopefully carry us into the next 25 years. This year’s honorees include a progressive group of movers and shakers, as well as the legends who have led the way and created a pathway for the next generation of music creators and executives.”

For tickets and sponsorship information, please contact Pat Shields at 310.568.9091 or


For additional information on the Living Legends Foundation, please visit