SOCAN Crowns Drake and Dukes Songwriters of Year

Drake won Songwriter of the Year – Performer and Dukes Songwriter of the Year – Producer at the 30thannual event, which was held in Toronto to celebrate achievements in music creation, publishing and licensing in Canada over the past year.

Besides Drake winning the top songwriter award, a number of his songs were recognized with individual awards. “In My Feelings” won a Pop Music award, while “God’s Plan” and “Nice For What” received Rap Music awards. Dukes also saw a number of his songs individually recognized. The Weeknd/Kendrick Lamar hit “Pray For Me”, Post Malone’s “Better Now” and Camila Cabello’s “Never Be The Same”, all of which he co-wrote, won Pop Awards, while his co-penned “Call Out My Name” for The Weeknd received a Rap award.

Other Sony/ATV winners included Geoff Warburton whose “In My Blood” for Shawn Mendes received a Pop award, while Boi-1da won a Rap award for co-writing the hit “No Limit”, which was recorded by G-Eazy featuring A$AP Rocky and Cardi B.